ommm…

January 13, 2007 at 9:18 am (self care, spiritual)

Most people I talk to think meditation is hard.  They think it’s about clearing the mind and having no thoughts.  Good luck with that!

Meditation is not about having ‘no thoughts’.  The nature of the mind is to think as the nature of a fish is to swim.

 

Meditation is not identifying with, or getting caught up with, the thoughts you have during a period of meditation.

 

You might have thoughts but the thoughts aren’t you.  They are just like leaves floating on the river of your conscious mind.  Why do you pay so much attention to the leaves?

 

There is no one right way to meditate.  The most important part of meditation isn’t how good you are at it (how would you measure that, anyway?), but how faithful you are to the practice.

 

I don’t do it because I want to, or because I enjoy it.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.  I meditate because I have to.  It feeds my soul.  It frees my soul

Leave a Reply

