why blog?

February 9, 2007 at 10:02 pm (writing)

Why do you keep and read blogs?  Here are my reasons:

  • I have a lot of thoughts and I like to keep them in a safe place.
  • I have to write to be happy.  If I don’t, I despair.  Life has no meaning and there is no point, no hope.  And then I start to write again and find hope right where I left it.  In the pages of my notebooks and journals, on my keyboard.
  • It helps me become a better writer – I am able to ‘hear’ my voice.  My style of writing tends to be plain and sparse.  I am working on keeping the truth of it while become more detailed.
  • I like the idea that I’m not writing into a void.  The thought that someone, some day, somewhere out there might leave an appreciative comment spurs me on.
  • I can get paid to blog.  Hey I’m young and I need the money!
  • Reading other people’s blogs reassures me it’s not all in my mind. 
Leave a Reply

