not giving up my day job

February 16, 2007 at 8:04 am (career)

typing pool 

I’ve been a bit worried lately that I might lose my day job so I spent about a week applying for other jobs. 

I work 3 days a week in an office and there hasn’t been a lot of work since December, which is probably normal for the Holiday season, but it’s been a concern to me.

 Today they asked me if I could work more hours.  I was pretty relieved.  My other part time job, where i have been for more than 10 years, will be ending some time in March when the company closes.  I don’t mind picking up more hours at my day job in that case.

I’m quite good at finding jobs and I actually got offered a couple of jobs in the week I was looking.  It’s good to know that if I need one in a hurry, I can get one.

My gut feeling was that it would be okay, that I wouldn’t need to find something else.  It looks like I was right!

Leave a Reply

